06/13/2012 – Front Squats and Annie

14 Jun

Today was definitely a good day at CFPA. I came in knowing we were going to do Front Squats, and before I left the house, I looked on the site to see when my last PR was. Looks like I had to get higher than 143#. I took my time warming up with 3 sets of 5.

Front Squat –
Warmup Sets: 33-63-73
Work Sets: 93#(3)-113#(3)-123#(3)-133#(1)-145#(1)-148#(1)

The last rep wasn’t pretty, and I had to fight for it, but I think I could of gone higher too. I was just tired and we were running out of time.

It’s weird how I seem to be able to sense a specific workout as I drive to CFPA. My core was sore just from 40 GHD situps that I did Monday at work. It didn’t start feeling sore until Tuesday afternoon. As I was driving to CFPA, I was thinking to myself that it would be funny if the workout would have ab-mat situps. We haven’t done them in awhile, and because I did the GHDs on my own on Monday, it would be karma that I would have to do something related to the core the next time I got to the gym. And what did Tim write on the board…Annie.

Annie:

  • 50 Double Unders
  • 50 Ab-mat Situps
  • 40 Double Unders
  • 40 Ab-mat Situps
  • 30 Double Unders
  • 30 Ab-mat Situps
  • 20 Double Unders
  • 20 Ab-mat Situps
  • 10 Double Unders
  • 10 Ab-mat Situps
  • Result: 9:44 RX’d

    The last time we did double unders, I stumbled…stumbled A LOT. Somehow, I was able to get close to 30 double unders during the first round. And yes, I’m still doing double/single/double/single. I went as fast as I could with the ab-mat situps without breaking. Those definitely slowed down as I was doing the 30 and 20 reps. But I was still able to string together my double unders when I got to the 40 and 30 set. I stumbled a bit with the 20 rep set. I decided to take my time, reset, and focus! When I finished the last set of double unders, someone finished in the class and Tim yelled 9:20 something. I wanted to get under 10, so I did the 10 ab-mats as fast as possible. So happy with my time! 🙂 The last time we did Annie, I got 12:09!

    I got to work and greased the groove with some Shoulder Presses. We aren’t doing them on Friday, so I wanted to still practice. I also did 3 sets of 5 BW pullups.

    Good workout day.

    Leave a Reply

