07/30/2012 – New Cycle at CFPA

31 Jul

YAY, we start a new cycle today at CFPA and guess what we did as strength. Power Cleans! I was practicing them a bit on Saturday after my workout. Just a couple sets. So, I felt good getting into the groove of things. Of course, Tim pointed out that the bar is flying way ahead of me, and I need to keep it close. Another thing I’m trying to focus on is keeping my arms straight. No bend in the elbows as I’m pulling the weight up.

Power Cleans: 63#(5)-63#(5)-73#(5)-83#(5)-93#(3)-98#(3)-103#(3)

All the sets felt really good. Maybe I could of gone heavier, but I wanted to focus on form. Next time I will warm up with 75 pounds. Once I get warm up sets up in weight, I know I can reach PRs. My PR is 118#.

Here’s our WOD:

For Time:

  • 400m Run
  • 15 Burpees
  • 30 Kettlebell Swings(24kg/16kg)
  • 45 Wall Balls(20#/14#)
  • 30 Kettlebell Swings
  • 15 Burpees
  • 400m Run
  • I started with the 14# medicine ball, but after a couple reps in Tim gave me a 12# ball. Goal was to string them together and hit the 10 ft target. Ya, still couldn’t string them together as fast as I could. I was doing 3 at a time. I need to find a good rhythm and be in control of the ball. I can’t let the ball dominate me. LOL. Funny that we did Kettlebell Swings today considering I did 30 on the minute on Saturday. I had to break the last 30 kettlebell swings into two sets.

    Result: 12:41 using 12# medicine ball.

    At work, I did some quick bench press sets. 95#(6)-90#(8)-85#(10). Pretty much to failure with 2-3 minutes in between each set.

    Day 39 of 100 Day Push Up Challenge done!

    Leave a Reply

