08/01/2012 – Overhead Squats

2 Aug

Pretty scary how I can predetermine what Tim is planning for our workout. Walking into the gym, I was wondering to myself what our Wednesday skill work would be for the next 3 weeks. I guessed Overhead Squats knowing that we haven’t done these since who knows when and my range of motion with my shoulder was still not 100%. And what does Tim announce…OHS of course!

The problem that I am having is that when I do sox press with a PVC pipe, my right shoulder just feels tight. How am I suppose to hold a heavy bar up over my head when I can’t even hold a PVC pipe and get through 10 sox press. Tim told me to go light.

Overhead Squats: 63#(5)-73#(5)-73#(5)-83#(5)-93#(3)

As the bar got onto my shoulder, everything felt light, even the 93#. Push pressing the bar up wasn’t the problem either. Doing the squat wasn’t even the problem. Getting the bar back onto my shoulder after doing the squat…THAT WAS THE PROBLEM. I ended up letting the 93# bar fall to the ground instead of letting the bar fall back onto my shoulder. I think it’s sort of mental on my part, bent just the bend in the arms makes my shoulder feel a little tight.

Here was our WOD:

For Time:

  • 500m Row
  • 21 Push Ups
  • 21 Box Jumps(20″)
  • 400m Row
  • 15 Push Ups
  • 15 Box Jumps(20″)
  • 300m Row
  • 9 Push Ups
  • 9 Box Jumps(20″)
  • 200m Row
  • 6 Push Ups
  • 6 Box Jumps(20″)
  • 100m Row
  • 3 Push Ups
  • 3 Box Jumps(20″)
  • I started to hang on the bar to practice a kipping pull up. My right shoulder felt really tight and awkward. Was I not warmed up enough? BLEH! Tim suggested ring dips. UGH! For all the pull ups, I did ring dips. The first 500m row I felt really good, until I stepped off and had to do ring dips. I could only get 3 or 4 at a time with good form. The next 400m row was the worst. It took longer for me to row 400m then it took me to row 500m. That’s how bad it was. Everything was downhill from there though.

    Result: 15:28

    In the afternoon, I wanted to go practice heavy deadlifts. I was doing 3×5 rep scheme.

    Deadlifts:165#(3)-195#(3)-215#(3)

    If my shoulder doesn’t feel better after our short vacation next week, I’m going to see a doc.

    One Response to “08/01/2012 – Overhead Squats”

    1. wymberley August 2, 2012 at 8:29 am #

      Im so sorry your having mobility issues! My husband and many others in our gym struggle with tight shoulders. Maybe look up some shoulder mobility workouts on pinterest. I find my yoga sessions really help. I’m happy to send you a few if you like

    Leave a Reply

