08/20/2012 – Power Cleans and Helen

21 Aug

It’s the last week of our cycle and today was Power Cleans. I wasn’t mentally prepared for getting a PR because I missed last weeks cycle. I tried but failed.

Power Cleans: 63#(5)-83#(3)-93#(3)-103#(3)-113#(1)-120#(F)

Tim noticed that as I pulled the bar up, the bar was flying away from me. Steve said that same thing when I went to Catalyst on Saturday while practicing Snatches. Something to work on, especially if I want to go heavier. Everything felt good, I just wasn’t ready for 120#. 118 was my PR, so I didn’t want to do that again. Next time! Till then, I just gotta practice form with lighter weight.

For our WOD, we did HELL-EN!

20120821-084851.jpg

For some reason I thought my PR before was right under 10, but I was wrong. The last time we did Helen(in May, I matched my PR of 10:24. I did pretty good the first two rounds, not getting of the pull up bar and going straight through with the kettlebells. The last round was touch. The run felt slow and mentally, I knew I had to get through the kettlebells. I’ve done more than 30 in a row before(multiple rounds), and this was JUST 21, so I had to get through it without putting the bell down. Success! Next was getting through the last 12 pull ups. I dropped 3 times. Argh! But I made it. 9:58. Forearms, hamstrings, quads were burning, but I did it! YAHOOOO!

Helen is totally mental. I have to fight through the pain, make sure grip is good for the pull ups, and just FINISH! Next time, unbroken is the goal!

I got to work and finished off my workout day with bench presses. 3×12 @ 73#

Great way to start a Monday.

Leave a Reply

