08/22/2012 – Overhead Squats and Air Force WOD

23 Aug

Another PR day at CFPA. Today was Overhead Squat day and I knew I wanted to get past 108 from two weeks ago.

Overhead Squat: 73#(3)-83#(3)-93#(3)-105#(1)-110#(1)

I put on the 1 pound plates once I got to the single sets. I’ve already done 103, so why do it again, especially if I’m going for the max lift. 110 felt a bit heavy to get overhead, but I was able to squat it. I wanted to try again with 113, but I knew there was a WOD waiting for me.

Air Force WOD

  • 20 Thrusters(95#/65#)
  • 20 Sumo Deadlift High Pulls
  • 20 Push Jerks
  • 20 Overhead Squats
  • 20 Front Squats
    1. Top of every minute do 4 burpees

    Result: 11:53 RX’d

    Last time we did this was in December! The thrusters went well, and I got through 19 of them in the first minute. The sumo deadlifts were another problem. I can’t seem to string them together. The movement just feels awkward to me now. Push Jerks felt like it took forever too. My overhead squats were not pretty. I was trying to stay on my heels, but my core was giving out, and my shoulders were tired, especially my left shoulder. The bar was wobbly and even though I was going slow, it just hurt! I went through the front squats in two minutes. I PR’d so I am happy, but I know I could do better!

    Let’s hope Friday is a good one! I am beat!

    Leave a Reply

